Go To Top








65 year logo


Lilly Scholarship Finalists Announced

Lilly Endowment, Inc. entrusts community foundations in each county in Indiana with administering the Lilly Endowment Community Scholarship annually. For 21 years, the Community Foundation of Wabash County has been proud to administer the prestigious Lilly Endowment Community Scholarship.


Six finalists for Wabash County were selected from the 46 talented students who applied. Finalists are Emily Clendenon of Northfield High School, Rebekah Freeman of Wabash High School, Elizabeth Haupert of the Indiana Academy for Science, Math, and Humanities (formerly of Northfield High School), Mallory Hipskind of Wabash High School, Faith Macy of Northfield High School, and Liam McGouldrick of Southwood High School. Applicants were ranked by academic achievement, financial need, the family’s educational attainment level, initiative, work experience, leadership, and volunteerism.

Emily Clendenon2

Emily Clendenon plans to pursue a medical degree and fulfill her lifelong dream of becoming a Pediatrician. Through her experiences and volunteer work tutoring elementary students, Emily has realized a passion for helping others, and wishes to continue to do so in her future career. She is a member of National Honor Society, Norsettes Dance Team, Student Council, Crossroads Bank Junior Board of Directors, and A Capella Choir. She also holds a part-time job and volunteers at her church. Emily is the daughter of Robert and Donna Clendenon.

Rebekah Freeman2

Rebekah Freeman plans to attend Rose-Hulman Institute of Technology to major in mechanical engineering and theatre. She aspires to pursue an engineering career in the film industry. An active member of her school and community, Rebekah is a member of National Honor Society, WCS Superintendent’s Student Advisory Council, Symphonic Voices Choir, Varsity Soccer, WHS Student Ambassadors, Wabash Frist United Methodist Church Youth Group and Sacred Steps Dancers, and the Speech, Debate, Drama, and Improve Clubs. Rebekah is the daughter of Kurt and Elizabeth Freeman.

Libby Haupert2

Elizabeth “Libby” Haupert plans to attend Indiana University to major in Biology. She has a passion for helping others and hopes to pursue a career as a physician. Elizabeth has participated in Student Council, United Way Reading Club, Key Club, Volleyball, Tennis, and HOSA – Future Health Professionals. She is an active member of 4-H and enjoys working as a camp counselor in the summers for Camp-We-Can. Elizabeth is the daughter of Ryan Haupert and Tiffany Haupert.

Mallory Hipskind2

Mallory Hipskind plans to attend Indiana University or Butler University to major in business. She hopes work in the small business sector and to one day open her own business. She is a member of National Honor Society, Key Club, Student Council, SADD - Students Against Destructive Decisions, JAG - Jobs for America’s Graduates, and the Varsity Swim Team. She is also a lifeguard and swim instructor. Mallory is the daughter of Richard and Shelley Hipskind.

Faith Macy2

Faith Macy plans to attend either the University of Indianapolis to pursue a career as a Pediatric Operating Room Nurse or the University of Notre Dame to pursue a career in diplomatic service with an interest in serving as an ambassador for the United States. Faith is a member of Student Council, Key Club, National Honor Society, and Yearbook. She is a manager for the Girls’ Basketball Team, an active member in 4-H, and holds a part-time job. Faith is the daughter of Curtis and Rebekah Macy.

Liam McGouldrick2

Liam McGouldrick plans to obtain a Biology degree from Indiana University to pursue a career in oceanic field research as a Marine Biologist. He is a member of National Honor Society, Varsity Track and Cross Country, Jazz Band, Campus Life, Mayor’s Youth Council, Senior Class Cabinet, and the NaNoWriMo Writing Club. Liam is active in his church, holds a part-time job, and is an accomplished pianist. Liam is the son of Justin and Amy McGouldrick.


Established in 1998 to draw more talented Indiana students to college, the Lilly Endowment aims to raise the level of educational attainment in the state and eliminate the barrier of financial need and college debt for recipients. The Lilly Endowment Community Scholarship is a prestigious scholarship awarded to students throughout Indiana. Recipients receive a four-year, full tuition scholarship to the Indiana institution of higher learning of his or her choice. Each year, many students apply, but only one Wabash County student will receive the scholarship.


All of these finalists are exceptionally talented and qualified. The level of drive, determination, and passion for education that the 2018/2019 finalists exhibit is wonderfully encouraging. These students will undoubtedly make Wabash proud as the next generation of successful citizens. The Community Foundation congratulates all the finalists for this prestigious award and wishes them all the best in their future endeavors. The winner will be announced at a later date


The Community Foundation of Wabash County is a nonprofit public charity established in 1954. It serves the citizens of Wabash County by implementing their charitable aspirations, making grants, investing and safeguarding charitable assets, providing information regarding charitable endeavors, convening citizens, and linking resources to address issues confronting our shared lives. Visit us at www.cfwabash.org and like us on Facebook.