Go To Top








60th anniversary logo black


2017 Lilly Endowment Scholarship Finalists Announced

Lilly Endowment, Inc. entrusts community foundations in each county in Indiana with administering the Lilly Endowment Community Scholarship annually. For 19 years, the Community Foundation of Wabash County has been proud to administer the prestigious Lilly Endowment Community Scholarship.

This year is the first year of the new Lilly Endowment Community Scholarship timeline. Students were required to submit applications to the Community Foundation by September 26, 2016, with the winner being announced in December. This new accelerated timeline was developed to provide the recipients more time to make their college selection.  

Rising from the applicant pool of 32 talented students, the five finalists for Wabash County are Nicole Adams of Wabash High School, Makenna Dawes of Southwood High School, Cheyenne King of Wabash High School, Zoe Payne of Wabash High School, and Catherine Tracy of Northfield High School. Applicants were ranked by academic achievement, financial need, the family’s history or lack of history in high education, initiative, work experience, leadership, and volunteerism.

Nicole Adams plans to pursue a degree in accounting and business in order to become an accountant. She is currently considering Manchester University, Purdue, and Indiana State University. Nicole is involved in National Honor Society, Academic Super Bowl, Teens Against Dating Abuse, Gay Straight Alliance, Operation Elf, March of Dimes, and also volunteers at the Animal Shelter and holds a part-time job. She is determined to further her education so that she can better herself and her community. Nicole is the daughter of Amy Morgan.

Makenna Dawes plans to attend Purdue University where she will major in Animal Science and Pre-Veterinary Medicine. She will go on to Purdue’s College of Veterinary Medicine to become a large and small animal veterinarian. Makenna is a member of the high school volleyball and basketball teams, Peers Educating Peers, National Honors Society, and Student Congress. She is a 10-year 4-H member and holds an internship at Countryside Veterinary Hospital. Makenna is the daughter of Gregory and Debra Dawes.

Cheyenne King plans to attend Oakland University to major in Missions and minor in Christian Education. Her career goal is to become a missionary. Cheyenne participates in National Honors Society, Student Council, Drama Club, Yearbook Committee, and the Superintendent’s Advisory Group. She is a manager for boys’ football, basketball, and baseball teams, an active member of her church missions group, a mentor for Kids Hope, and holds a part-time job. Cheyenne is the daughter of Kenneth King and Teresa Miller-King.

Zoe Payne plans to attend Indiana University to major in social work, research science, and nonprofit managements in order to pursue a career in social work and research science. She is a member of the Crossroads Junior Board of Directors, Gay Straight Alliance, Teens Against Dating Abuse, Academic Super Bowl, and is Vice President of her senior class. Zoe is an active volunteer with many community organizations and holds a part-time job. Zoe is the daughter of Catrina Payne and granddaughter of John and Teresa Heitz.

Catherine Tracy plans to attend Purdue University to major in Film and Theater Production and Design in order to seek a career as a producer and designer in the entertainment industry. She participates in Track and Field, Cross County, Yearbook, National Honor Society, Best of the Best Art Program, Future Farmers of America, Dance, Piano, and 4-H. She is a volunteer gymnastics coach and also holds a part-time job. Catherine is the daughter of Richard and Shannon Tracy.

Established in 1998 to draw more talented Indiana students to college, the Lilly Endowment aims to raise the level of educational attainment in the state and eliminate the barrier of financial need and college debt for recipients. The Lilly Endowment Community Scholarship is a prestigious scholarship awarded to students throughout Indiana. Recipients receive a four-year, full tuition scholarship to the Indiana institution of higher learning of his or her choice. Each year, many students apply, but only one Wabash County student will receive the scholarship.

All of these finalists are exceptionally talented and qualified. The level of drive, determination, and passion for education that the 2016 finalists exhibit is wonderfully encouraging. These students will undoubtedly make Wabash proud as the next generation of successful citizens. The Community Foundation congratulates all the finalists for this prestigious award and wishes them all the best in their future endeavors. The winner will be announced at a later date

The Community Foundation of Wabash County is a nonprofit public charity established in 1954. It serves the citizens of Wabash County by implementing their charitable aspirations, making grants, investing and safeguarding charitable assets, providing information regarding charitable endeavors, convening citizens, and linking resources to address issues confronting our shared lives.