Go To Top








60th anniversary logo black


2017/2018 Lilly Endowment Scholarship Finalists

Lilly Endowment, Inc. entrusts community foundations in each county in Indiana with administering the Lilly Endowment Community Scholarship annually. For 20 years, the Community Foundation of Wabash County has been proud to administer the prestigious Lilly Endowment Community Scholarship.

Rising from the applicant pool of 50 talented students, the six finalists for Wabash County are Jessica Bott of Southwood High School, Anna Driscoll of Northfield High School, Jada Laycock of North Miami High School, Parker Mays of Southwood High School, Lucas Topliff of Southwood High School, and Remington Trick of Manchester High School. Applicants were ranked by academic achievement, financial need, the family’s history or lack of history in higher education, initiative, work experience, leadership, and volunteerism.

Jessica Bott plans to pursue a business degree from Butler University in order to obtain a career in marketing or finance. Jessica is involved in National Honors Society, Student Congress, Junior Leaders, Student Advisory Committee, Peers Educating Peers, and the Crossroads Bank Junior Board. She is a 10-year 4H member, works on the school newspaper, and holds a part-time job. She strives to further her education in order to better herself and create a better world for future generations. Jessica is the daughter of David and Jennifer Bott.

Anna Driscoll plans to pursue a degree in Human Communication and Organizational Leadership. Anna is involved in Student Council, National Honor Society, Spanish Club, and varsity golf. She is an active member of 4H and currently has an internship with Wabash County Habitat for Humanity. She believes that pursuing a college degree is necessary to create better opportunities. Anna is the daughter of Frank and Beth Driscoll.

Jada Laycock plans to pursue a degree in Zoology or Wildlife Biology in order to become a zoologist. Jada is involved in Student Council, Spanish Club, and varsity softball. She has participated on several missions trips and holds a part-time job. She has always been drawn to work with animals, and knows that a college degree will be necessary to pursue that career and secure her future. Jada is the daughter of Justin and Jodi Laycock.

Parker Mays plans to attend Purdue University to major in Engineering to pursue a career as an engineer. Parker is involved in National Honor Society, Student Congress, Peers Educating Peers, Senior Class Cabinet, and varsity football and golf. He is an active 4H member and participates on the Mayor’s Youth Council. From a young age, Parker knew he would eventually further his education in order to provide for his future. Parker is the son of Douglas and Karen Mays.

Lucas Topliff plans to attend Purdue University, major in Engineering, and pursue a career as an aeronautical engineer. Lucas is involved in National Honor Society, Student Congress, and varsity baseball and cheerleading. He is an active member of his church and a community volunteer. Lucas is the son of Todd and Tamara Topliff.

Remington Trick plans to pursue a degree in biomedical engineering in order to obtain a career in the orthopedic industry. He is currently considering Rose-Hulman, University of Michigan, Purdue University or Trine University. Remington is involved in National Honor Society, Key Club, Spanish Club, and varsity track and football. He is an active member of his church and desires to use his education as a means of improving the quality of life for others.  Remington is the son of Kyle Trick and the late Stacey Trick.

Established in 1998 to draw more talented Indiana students to college, the Lilly Endowment Community Scholarship provides recipients with a four-year, full tuition scholarship to an accredited public or private nonprofit college or university of their choice in Indiana. The primary purposes of the Lilly Endowment Community Scholarship Program are 1) to help raise the level of educational attainment in Indiana; 2) to increase awareness of the beneficial roles Indiana community foundations can play in their communities; and 3) to encourage and support the efforts of current and past Lilly Endowment Community Scholars to engage with each other and with Indiana business, government, educational, nonprofit and civic leaders to improve the quality of life in Indiana generally and in local communities throughout the state.  

To date, the Lilly Endowment Community Scholarship Program has provided 4,340 scholarships equaling over 372 million dollars. There will be 143 additional scholarships awarded this year. Each year, many students apply, but only one Wabash County student will receive the scholarship.

All of these finalists are exceptionally talented and qualified. The level of drive, determination, and passion for education that the 2017 finalists exhibit is wonderfully encouraging. These students will undoubtedly make Wabash proud as the next generation of successful citizens. The Community Foundation congratulates all the finalists for this prestigious award and wishes them all the best in their future endeavors. The winner will be announced in December.

The Community Foundation of Wabash County is a nonprofit public charity established in 1954. It serves the citizens of Wabash County by implementing their charitable aspirations, making grants, investing and safeguarding charitable assets, providing information regarding charitable endeavors, convening citizens, and linking resources to address issues confronting our shared lives. Visit us at www.cfwabash.org and like us on Facebook.